The Source

House Committee Reauthorizes DNA Sexual Assault Programs

On April 2, the House Judiciary Committee approved, by voice vote, the Debbie Smith Reauthorization Act (H.R. 4323). The bill, sponsored by Chair Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), would reauthorize through 2019 the DNA Analysis Backlog Elimination Act (P.L. 106-546), the DNA Sexual Assault Justice Act (P.L. 108-405), and the Sexual Assault Forensic Exam Grant program.

The current law, which expires on September 30, provides grants to state and local governments for the collection and timely analysis of DNA evidence, as well as training and technical assistance for forensic scientists, law enforcement officials, and medical professionals.